Helen Carey

Helen Carey

VICTORY GIRLS, the final novel in Helen’s LAVENDER ROAD sequence, was published by Headline in paperback in October 2018.

Helen Carey lived much of her life in South London but now makes her home in rural Wales, overlooking the Irish Sea. Her LAVENDER ROAD novels follow, a year at a time, a number of characters in one South London street throughout the Second World War. The fourth book in the series, LONDON CALLING, was shortlisted for the Romantic Novel of the Year award in the Historical Novel category. The novels are: LAVENDER ROAD (first published by Orion 1995, reissued by Headline 21 April 2016), SOME SUNNY DAY (first published by Orion 1996, reissued by Headline 12 April 2016), ON A WING AND A PRAYER (first published by Orion 1997, reissued by Headline 1 December 2016), LONDON CALLING (Headline 25 February 2016), THE OTHER SIDE OF THE STREET (Headline 6 April 2017) and VICTORY GIRLS (9 April 2018).



  Find Helen Carey Books on Facebook

Praise for the LAVENDER ROAD novels:
“Sparkling storytelling” London Evening Standard
“Unputdownable” Western Telegraph
“Written with a lightness of touch, an emotional integrity and an historical accuracy which has brought her respect from critics and readers like by making this period of history accessible to large audiences worldwide” Louis de Bernières
“My return to Lavender Road was a delightful experience. The large cast of memorable characters and the great sense of time and place are a credit to the author’ Ellie Dean
“Much loved series…a tale of ordinary people doing extraordinary things” People’s Friend